Student or Learner
Native Language
English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Hi,

I just saw this sentence on a website: ‘I was a teacher for 17 years - but I couldn’t read’. If the hyphen was replaced with a comma what would be the difference in meaning?

A comma would be incorrect. The dash could simply be removed (not replaced with anything) and you would have a grammatical sentence.

A comma would be incorrect. The dash could simply be removed (not replaced with anything) and you would have a grammatical sentence.

Why would it be incorrect?

Wouldn't it still be grammatically correct if a comma was used because "but" is a conjunction and a comma usually follows but.

If we examine the sentence: "I was a teacher for 17 years" and "I couldn't read" both are complete sentence isn't that right?

I know by not having a comma it means all the information is essential for the purpose of that sentence, but what is the other meaning if a coma was used?

Also I have always wondered - what is the author trying to convey by using the hyphen in this situation?

Apologies. A comma would be fine. I managed to miss the word "but" originally and thought it said "I was a teacher for 17 years - I couldn't read". Using a comma would have led to a comma splice.
Sorry for the confusion. A comma is OK before "but".

The speaker/writer assumes that the listener/reader would be very surprised by the part after "but".

Once last note: would it still be grammatically correct to omit the dash or comma so it reads: "I was a teacher for 17 years but I couldn’t read" to emphasise essential information?

Hi,

I want to revisit this question as I seem to lost focus on the original question.

1. I was a teacher for 17 years but I couldn’t read.

2. I was a teacher for 17 years, but I couldn’t read.

Is there a difference in meaning between the two sentences?

I want to revisit this question as I seem to lost focus on the original question.

1. I was a teacher for 17 years but I couldn’t read.