Student or Learner
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Greetings one and all!
I am in the process of writing a rather significant amount of text for a website and I have something of a burning issue that I need resolved. If I have posted this in the wrong category, please forgive me and please feel free to move it appropriately. Likewise, it's been a few years since I took College Comp I & II, so please forgive any grammar mistakes in my writing here...for better or worse, I tend to write the way that I talk and like many, I spend WAY too much time on "social media".

Alrighty...my name is Jim, I'm a digital artist (among other things) and with the help of my wife (who's a programmer), I'm the process of building a new online portfolio for my work. Along with examples of my artwork (obviously), many of the pages are going to include links to "Info Pages" to explain what the viewer is actually looking at (when the work was created, how it was created, why it was created, etc.). Until now, I have been writing these info pages in the third person. With the exception of my "Artist's Statement" page, where I directly address my audience, instead of referring to myself as "I", I have thus far referred to myself as "the artist". For example, I'll write something along the lines of "The work seen on this particular page represents the artist's earliest efforts..." or "This particular page represents the artist's great affection for the Renaissance period..." - you get the idea. My reasoning here is that a potential viewer doesn't really know who actually created the website, let alone who wrote the text and thus, who's actually doing the "speaking". My wife, who's doing all my proof reading, as well as the coding for this website and is a college graduate herself (she excelled in Advanced Writing in college)...has had something of a small aneurysm over this. She feels I should be addressing the audience directly. While I do trus