Student or Learner
Native Language
Turkish
Home Country
Turkey
Current Location
Turkey
Hi,

Could anyone who has watched 'Seinfield' help me, please? There is a character named J Peterman and when I watch him speaking I cannot understand almost anything. It may be his accent or the way he speaks or the words he uses. What do you think? I cannot understand him because I am not good at English?

Here is a link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sDJbY0StaLU&list=RDsDJbY0StaLU&t=49

Thanks.

It's just part of his character. It's not a special accent. I also found him a bit hard to follow at times.

He's speaking with an Irish accent. I don't find him hard to understand in the YouTube clip.

It doesn't sound very Irish to me, but it is odd.

Well, he's using an American actor's impression of an Irish accent. :)

He's speaking with an Irish accent. I don't find him hard to understand in the YouTube clip.

It's only now that you've pointed it out that I can hear that he's vaguely, and poorly, attempting an Irish accent. That's why he sounds weird.

ademoglu, J Peterman in Seinfeld does speak with a slight Irish accent for his character in the show.

However, most of his pronunciation aspects including linking, word and sentence stress, and total rhythm sound like rapid American speech to me.

Therefore, your difficulty in understanding him is most likely due to the fact that most English as a Foreign Language Learners learn to pronounce individual English words, not connected speech, and so are used to pronouncing every sound of each word very clearly.

Whereas, Native English speakers almost always use reductions and contractions to speed up our speech which makes everything sound like one long word to non-native English speakers.

For example, you might hear "jeetyet?" instead of "Did you eat yet?" which would leave you wondering what in the world that 1 word "jeetyet" meant when in fact it was 4 words spoken in their reduced form.