Other
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Iran
Hi.
I was always under the impression that reduced syllable sounds can not have stress on them because they are lax vowels. however, the word "utter (/ˈʌtər/" has first syllable stress which is a reduced sound. please tell me the reason why.
Thanks.

I am not an expert in phonetics, but I don't understand your question. The stress is on the first syllable in "utter". It is not an exception as far as I know.

Reduced sounds are not suppose to have stress, i.e schwa sounds ,etc. hence the meaning; reduced sounds.

I am not a teacher.

I don't think the 'ʌ' is a reduced vowel. It is an unreduced short vowel and appears in stressed syllables quite frequently.

Take the word 'reduction' ɾiˈdʌkʃ(ə)n for example.

The vowel is just a short "U". It is not a schwa.

[FONT=Gentium, GentiumAlt, DejaVu Sans, Segoe UI, Lucida Grande, Charis SIL, Doulos SIL, TITUS Cyberbit Basic, Code2000, Lucida Sans Unicode, sans-serif]/ɛ/ is surly a reduce sound (according to American Accent Training by Ann Cook). Notice the streets on the word [/FONT]empty /ˈɛmpti/

The stress on "empty" is on the first syllable, It is a short "e"', not a schwa. My guess is you have misunderstood something somewhere along the line.

Thanks.
I know exactly what a schwa is. The point is that although I know /ɛ/ is short "e" , I read it is also "reduced sound, or a lax vowel".

Hello pangaea,