Student or Learner
Native Language
Turkish
Home Country
Turkey
Current Location
Turkey
Stefan was late for work again today.

So I'm studying about present perfect - past simple differences. I saw this sentence in an exercise. I pondered about this sentece here are my questions and assumptions.

1- This sentence was said after work day. I know that present perfect isn't used for a finished period of time. By the way I assume this sentence was said later that day's night, I mean after work when everybody went to their home. Although the day wasn't over, the ''work'' day was over.

2- Keeping in mind first assumption. İf I wanted to express that Stefan was late during the work day (while everybody work let's say in the office ) would I say ''Stefan has been late for wok again today'' ?

So basically I'm confused a little bit. Could you tell me when to use '' Stefan was late for work again today'' / '' Stefan has been late for work again today''

"Stefan was late for work again today."

[STRIKE]So[/STRIKE] I'm studying about present perfect/past simple differences. I saw that sentence in an exercise.

Do not start sentences with "So" unless you mean "Therefore."

I wondered about the sentence. Here are my questions and assumptions.

1- This sentence was said after the work day.

No, the sentence doesn't say that. He might still be at work.

I know that present perfect isn't used for a finished period of time. [STRIKE]By the way[/STRIKE]I assume the sentence was said later that [STRIKE]day's[/STRIKE] night, I mean after work when everybody went to their home.

Again, the sentence does not say that. It might be noon, it might be midnight. We don't know without more information.

Although the day wasn't over, the work' day was over.

Again, we don't know that. Stefan might still be at work.