Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Spanish
Home Country
Puerto Rico
Current Location
Puerto Rico
Hi, I'm an English teacher, and I'm attempting to explain the difference between mental and physical action verbs to my students. The problem I've run into, however, is that the line between what constitutes a mental or physical action verb can be blurry at times. For example, the book I'm using to teach refers to the verb "earned" as a physical action verb, when earning could be understood as more of a concept than an actual physical action. Another example is "breaking" a world record; does anyone actually break anything? So, is it more of a concept, again, or an actual, physical action? If it's said to be a physical action, then shouldn't it be rephrased appropriately with context where actual "breaking" takes place?

My hypothesis here is that the attempt to strictly categorize verbs as strictly mental or physical is flawed to a certain degree; some verbs simply are ambiguous to interpretation. If I said that I promised you something, that's technically a physical action with mental functions. Now, if I promised myself something, there's not much room to escape the mental aspect of the verb, unless the sentence is interpreted as the person saying to themselves that they promise something.

At the end of the day, murky concept or not, my students expect me to know how to explain this, so what should I do? I tried explaining the ambiguity concept to them, but perhaps that's too advanced for them to understand.

Is it honestly a categorisation that is essential to learning?

It is a disastrous idea to try to force all verbs into the categories of physical and mental.

If you do want to usefully categorise verbs, then you will need many more categories. Some of these categories may be of some use pedagogically speaking, but this seems to me an ultimately fruitless task, given what I assume are your teaching aims.

earn cannot be considered as a physical action.