Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Arabic
Home Country
United Arab Emirates
Current Location
United Arab Emirates
I want to conduct a research on translation using machine translation from a language to English. How can I evaluate the translation in English in terms of readability, fluency, and accuracy in human evaluation and non machine evaluation. How can I judge the quality of the text generated by machine translation? Are there websites to evaluate the translated texts?

I think you're saying you want a human to do it but you can't do it yourself, right?

I think you're saying you want a human to do it but you can't do it yourself, right?

Yes, the problem is that I am not an expert in Arabic (even though it is my native language) and do not have Arabic teaching qualifications to evaluate translated texts. The purpose of this thread is to explore ways to evaluate translation based on human assessment. I will ask my colleagues at the University to help me evaluate the texts generated by machine translation.
Should I ask something like: "On a scale of 1 to 5, how readable is the following text?"

Are there websites that can help me evaluate text readability, fluency, and accuracy?

I have to ask both esteemed English teachers at this lovely community Using English 🌹 and also seek help from statisticians.

Yes, the problem is that I am not an expert in Arabic (even though it is my native language) and do not have Arabic teaching qualifications to evaluate translated texts.

Is the goal then to evaluate translation from English into Arabic? Is that specifically what you aim to evaluate?

The purpose of this thread is to explore ways to evaluate translation based on human assessment. I will ask my colleagues at the University to help me evaluate the texts generated by machine translation.