Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Bosnian
Home Country
Bosnia Herzegovina
Current Location
Sweden
Would you please correct the mistakes in the first part of my short story?

My name is Hamid. I work as a carer. I take care of old men and women in their homes. The job is demanding, both physically and mentally, but I like it. I meet all kinds of people: former professors, doctors, nurses, tradesmen, office workers, drivers etc. For the majority of them, I am the only person they talk to during the day. Without my colleagues and me, they will be isolated and abandoned. Nowadays their children and grandchildren do not have time to visit them because they pursue their own careers and goals. Eventually, they are invited to Christmas dinner or a birthday party, and then they are forgotten again. Some of them are hurt by their children’s indifference. They wanted them to be affectionate human beings, but instead, they got selfish individuals who love their wallets more than their parents.

My clients tell me about the guilt their feel. They wonder what they had done wrong. Where had they made a mistake? How could they have given birth or fathered such creatures who don’t even deign a telephone call? I reassure them it is not their fault. It is society which has changed. Capitalism needs people who will spend more time working in factories and companies than with their old parents. We are all expendable goods and nothing more, I tell them. They nod in agreement, but they are not reassured. They hear me talking in abstractions, but they are interested to know the concrete truth about their children’s behaviour, which I, unfortunately, cannot give them.