Student or Learner
Native Language
Korean
Home Country
South Korea
Current Location
South Korea
Source : "Lesson 3 : Be Positive, Be happy!" from a middle school textbook
Let me tell you what my mother does about her stress. She feels stressed by all the things she has to do at work and at home. When she's under stress, she writes “Me Time” on her calendar. This means she takes some time out for herself. She reads a book, watches a movie, or talks with her friends.
She says, “It doesn't really matter what I do, as long as it's something I like. I've been writing 'Me Time' on my calendar for two months, and I feel much better.” Which methods will work for you?

ex)It doesn't really matter what I do.
1. I gave him what he wanted.
2. I asked him what he wanted.

Is "what" in ex same as "what" as a relative pronoun in 1 or as "what" as an interrogative in an indirect question in 2?

Last edited:
Source and author?

The source in the first line is all that I know. Please don't ask me for its exact source, which will make me search for it on the internet for a long time.

If you can't be bothered to give us a source, I can't be bothered to deal with your question.

Last edited:
I think tzfujimino's source is correct.

What you're asking about here is what we teachers call 'wh'-clauses. The structure is: question word + clause.

what I do
what he wanted
where I went
how I did it
when she arrived
why they stopped

I'm afraid that careful enunciation is not a hallmark of bluegrass music. Hopefully learners will at least be able to make out the oft-repeated chorus in this classic anyway:

What you're asking about here is what we teachers call 'wh'-clauses. The structure is: question word + clause.

what I do
what he wanted
where I went
how I did it
when she arrived
why they stopped

Is this an indirect question? How can you tell if "what" is a question word or a relative pronoun in various contexts?