English Teacher
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
China
Context: Tom has just got a prize.

I know he could say “It’s the first time I’ve won a prize”. I’d like to know if he could also say this: It’s my first time winning a prize.

Context: Tom has just won a prize.

I know he could say “It’s the first time I’ve won a prize”. I’d like to know if he could also say this: It’s my first time winning a prize.

Yes. He could also say:

This is my first time ever winning a prize. Whoopee!
:)

Yes, but it's not an improvement on the original.

It's different from the original.

The present perfect in the original helps express that the speaker consider winning a prize an achievement.

In your alternative version, the emphasis is on the action as a new experience rather than a first achievement, so it's not very appropriate.

The present perfect in the original helps express that the speaker consider winning a prize an achievement.

Would you describe the grammar of the present-perfect version as expressing an achievement, Jutfrank, if the topic were changed slightly? :-D

This is the first time I've gotten thrown in jail.
This is my first time getting thrown in jail.

Would you describe the grammar of the present-perfect version as expressing an achievement, Jutfrank, if the topic were changed slightly? :-D

This is the first time I've gotten thrown in jail.

I wouldn't use that example, no, because it doesn't seem to be said as if it's an achievement. However, it could be uttered within the context of the speaker talking about her wider life experience, which is generally the same thing.

I wouldn't use that example, no, because it doesn't seem to be said as if it's an achievement.

Presumably, then, you would reject all these sentences:

This is the first time we've had dinner here.
This is the first time I've used a Mac.
This is the first time I've seen the movie.

I find them all correct and to be interchangeable with these: