Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Japanese
Home Country
Japan
Current Location
Japan
Hi, forum. This is my first time posting here, and I would like to ask: What does each of the present participles in these three examples mean exactly?

1. I got emotional listening to this song.
2. A coworker cut his hair using mirrors.
3. Do you think you'll be okay waiting here by yourself?

Is 1. in the causal sense, 2. in the means sense, and 3. in the simultaneity sense?

Welcome to the forum. '

Before we continue, you need to tell us where you found those three example sentences. If you didn't create them yourself, we need to know the title of the book/website and the name(s) of the author(s) of each one.
This is a legal requirement whenever you quote someone else's words, due to the strict copyright laws in the UK (where the forum is based).

Welcome to the forum. '

Before we continue, you need to tell us where you found those three example sentences. If you didn't create them yourself, we need to know the title of the book/website and the name(s) of the author(s) of each one.
This is a legal requirement whenever you quote someone else's words, due to the strict copyright laws in the UK (where the forum is based).

1. is slightly different from the original. 2. is from a post on reddit. 3. is a scene from Breaking Bad. You can see it at 1:17

1) I got so emotional listening to my husband share his heart

This is simultaneous, since the woman's emotions were happening at the same time that her husband was talking. However, it's primarily causal, because what she's mainly saying is that the man's words are what made her very emotional.

2) Coworker cut his hair using mirrors

Yes, this what you call the 'means' use. It means that the method the coworker used to cut his hair involved the use of mirrors.

3) Are you going to be okay waiting here by yourself?

This is equivalent to:

= Do you feel comfortable with the idea of waiting here by yourself?