Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
China
Timothy Poterucha: My name is Tim Poterucha. I’m a cardiologist and clinical researcher at Columbia University. I codirect a artificial intelligence applications in cardiology research laboratory here at Columbia, where we study how we can use AI technologies in order to do a better job of taking care of patients with heart disease.

Source: New England Journal of Medicine

Is it acceptable in dialogue using "a", rather than "an", before a vowel? Or is such misuse of "a" common in English chat or conversation?

The editor here somehow letted "a artificial intelligence" slip through without editing it into "an artificial intelligence".

4.JPG

It should be:

I codirect artificial intelligence applications.

Is it acceptable in dialogue using "a", rather than "an", before a vowel? Or is such misuse of "a" common in English chat or conversation?
It's probably just a typo. Or the speaker made a slip of the tongue and it was reported as it is.

The editor here somehow letted
The past tense form of "let" is "let", not "letted".

It isn't a typo and it isn't a slip of the tongue. You can hear exactly what he says at 00:17.

What strikes me about this is the grammar:

1) Why does he use an indefinite article before the plural noun applications?
2) Why doesn't he use one for laboratory?

I think what he's saying is that he codirects a artificial intelligence applications in cardiology research laboratory, where the whole of the red bit is modifying laboratory.

By the way, the use of 'a' before a word starting with a vowel is very common and natural in speech. It's especially common when the speaker needs to pause very slightly before continuing, as is what happens here. Remember that the text you posted is a transcript of the spoken interview. If the text were a piece of writing, it would be wrong.