[General] How can one distinguish people with a motive at an English club?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Silverobama

Key Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
China
I've been hosting some English clubs for a few years. Since 2019, I got report from some female participants that they were harrassed by some male participants at my English clubs. These men tried to date them and cheated them out of money or take sexual advantage of them. I decide to give a talk in Chinese about how to avoid and recognize such people. The topic's name is:

How can one distinguish people with a motive at an English club?

Is my question natural?

How can one catch someone with an ulterior motive at an English club?

If I were you, I'd report those cases to the police first.
I'd also encourage those victims to do the same.

I have to admit I'm not quite as fussed as Charlie about using "meeting" every time. Each individual meeting is, of course, a meeting but the club itself is a club. If you have been the host of several different clubs over the last few years, then there's nothing wrong with your sentence (for me). So if you used to be a host of/for "The Tokyo English Club" for a couple of years, then you left and became a host of "English Club for Beginners" for a year, then left and became a host of/for "Intermediate English Club" and you still do it, then your claim to have been the host of some clubs is fine.

I. . . How can I spot people with ulterior motives at [STRIKE]an[/STRIKE] English club meetings?

Is my question natural?
You started with the plural "people," so "motive" should be pluralized, too. If you're not talking in general and not about just one meeting, then "meeting" should be pluralized, too.

Last edited by a moderator: