[Essay] How Can I Possibly Improve My Writing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Azanama

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Hello to all the teachers and helpers on Using English! My name is Josh and I am a sophomore at a certain high school in the US. I recently went through a timed write/ persuasive essay on a book called Antigone (which is actually within a trilogy called Oedipus Rex, you've probably heard of it). The topic was on an argument between the king Creon and his son Haemon on the execution of the son's soon-to-be wife, Antigone. The essay was supposed to provide different types of persuasion devices and tools that Haemon used during his talk with his father. I had prepared a great deal for this essay and had high expectations for the grade that I would get back. My teacher grades on a scale from one to nine, and when she returned my essay I found out that I had gotten a measly four :oops::cry::oops::cry:. The sole purpose of me creating an account on this forum was so that I could improve my writing ability and also to learn how to create an essay that my teacher would like :up:. All I would like to know is how I could improve the flow of my writing and make it more appealing. Below is said essay--I had forty-five minutes to complete it, with notes and open book. I also had to rush the ending because of time pressure. Thanks for reading,

Josh :-D

P.S. She wrote at the top of the essay "not analyzing much" and in the middle of the second paragraph "not that emotional" for one of my quotes, and later in the third paragraph "not enough on logos"

Oedipus & Antigone Final Essay