Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Vietnamese
Home Country
Vietnam
Current Location
Vietnam
hi everyone!, im from Vietnam, i have learned english for 4 years.

i've read a sentence that : "Just been showing Professor Sprout the right way to doctor a Whomping Willow! But I don't want you running away with the idea that I'm better at Herbology than she is!"

i can understand it but i feel unfamilliar with the sentence: "don't want you running away" because i ve been taught that " want + to infinitive" could you explain it for me. thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to the forum, whocanhelpme.:)

H
i everyone! I'm from Vietnam. I have been learing English for four years.

I've read this sentence [STRIKE]that[/STRIKE]: "Just been showing Professor Sprout the right way to doctor a Whomping Willow! But I don't want you running away with the idea that I'm better at Herbology than she is!"

I can understand it but i feel unfamiliar with the sentence: "don't want you running away" because I've been taught [STRIKE]that[/STRIKE] "want + to infinitive". Could you explain it for me?

[STRIKE]Thanks in advance[/STRIKE]. Unnecessary. Just click 'Thank' when you get a useful answer.
It's just an informal way of saying 'I don't want you to jump to the conclusion that...'

Please note that a better title would have been I don't want you running away.

Extract from the Posting Guidelines:

'Thread titles should include all or part of the word/phrase being discussed.'

Dear Rover_KE