• Thread starter Brock A Schmitt
  • Start date
  • Views : 1,784
Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Brock A Schmitt

Please Help

I have a college degree however I am no genious when it comes to english and grammar. In the following sentence there has been discussion between myself and coworkers as to what this sentence means? Being said, I am hoping that someone in english field with expertice can make it make sense.

Only one person from a family shall be employed as a permenant employee by the City in the same department or division or in any City employement, so that they would be working in close proximity on a regular day to day basis.

My question would be, using proper sentence structure, does the statement after the comma define define only city employment or all items listed before the comma?

Thank you in advance, teachers truely are the key to the future!

Only one person from a family shall be employed as a permenant employee by the City in the same department or division or in any City employement, so that they would be working in close proximity on a regular day to day basis.

The sentence is not clear.
Who is 'they'? All the 'persons' from each family?

'Would be' or 'would not be' working in close proximity?
I thought the idea of employing one person only from each family is to prevent employees from being too close to each other at the workplace?

Please Help

I have a college degree however I am no genious when it comes to english and grammar. In the following sentence there has been discussion between myself and coworkers as to what this sentence means? Being said, I am hoping that someone in english field with expertice can make it make sense.

My question would be, using proper sentence structure, does the statement after the comma define define only city employment or all items listed before the comma?

Thank you in advance, teachers truely are the key to the future!

Where does this sentence come from? It's almost incomprehensible.